Short is good (but we all knew that…)

Presto

Beth has already pimped Wall-E over on her cozy corner of internets, though as much as I loved it, I think I loved Presto more.

Everyone who has seen Pixar’s movies knows about their commitment to keeping the art of short films alive, prefacing each of their major releases with a whimsical short in the Merrie Melodies tradition. I grew up on a steady diet of Warner Bros. stuff, so I am more than thrilled that such a reputable and brilliant creative house is on my side.

A simple story (a bunny wants his carrot, and is miffed when his owner/magician starts the show without providing it, violence and hilarity ensues in his quest to obtain said carrot) done impeccably well. Just like the best of Bugs, Daffy, Foghorn Leghorn, the Goofy Gophers (indubitably!), and their kin.

I know I’m not linking the whole thing here, as that would be illegal and improper (though enterprising types may well be able to find it on the series of tubes…), you should all go and see Wall-E to experience Alec (the above-pictured bunny) for yourself, on the big screen. It doesn’t hurt that Wall-E is possibly Pixar’s best picture to date, but I would almost dare say that Presto outstrips it, if only out of pure joy.

I mean, just lookit his little face! He’s so happy!

This entry was posted in coolness, mooviez. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

